Home
About Us
Site Map
Products
Alerts
AceIt PMP Exam Prep
Distance Learning
Services
PMP® Certification
PM Tips & Tricks
PM Tools & Techniques
Links
Contact Us
BLOG

 

 

The PMP® Exam is being updated!

The 5th Edition of the PMBOK® ​Guide, released earlier this year, has triggered an update to the PMP® Exam. The new exam will be available on July 31st. Prior to that date the exam is based on the PMBOK® Guide, after that date it's based on the 5th Edition of the PMBOK® Guide. If you're planning to sit the exam before July 31st, use AceIt© Version 4, if you're planning to sit the exam after that date use AceIt© Version 5.

 


Windows 7 Users

 

Some AceIt users, running AceIt in a Windows 7 platform, have reported problems they experienced using the History feature. Symptoms of this problem are that upon an attempt to view the file contents an error message appears advising that the HistoryFile is full and directing you to delete it to resolve the problem. The file is not full so deleting it will not resolve the problem.

 

Users experiencing this problem will see the error message in Figure 1 when trying to access the History File. Clicking OK on the error popup will result in the screen in Figure 2.

Figure 1

Figure 2

The problem springs from a different approach to security settings in Windows 7. There are 2 solutions to this problem:

  1. Run AceIt as the administrator. To do this, simply right mouse click on the AceIt icon and select the Run as Administrator option from the popup menu.
  2. If the above does not resolve the problem, you will have to reset your User Account Control settings. There are 2 ways to access these settings. You can type in UAC in the Search Programs and Files window in the start menu and click on the Change User Account Control settings item that appears at the top of the menu. Alternatively, you can select the User Accounts item from the Control Panel (accessed from the start menu) and then select Change User Account settings from the menu appearing to the right hand of the User Accounts window. Selecting the Change User Account settings item will pop up the User Account Control settings window. Change the setting to the bottom end of the range (Never Notify). Restart your computer and the History feature will work as intended. To learn more about the User Account Control feature, visit the Microsoft website at: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/products/features/user-account-control

PMP and PMBOK are the registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.